When is the Davis Cup in Glasgow Playing?

when is the davis cup in glasgow

If you want to know when the Davis Cup in Glasgow is playing, you’ve come to the right place. The Davis Cup is a tennis tournament that is played between the United States and the Great Britain. This is one of the world’s most exciting tournaments and has a huge following. It also has a lot of history behind it. In fact, it is the second oldest tennis event in the world after the Australian Open.

United States vs Great Britain

United States vs Great Britain is one of the biggest games in sports. The two nations have been playing each other for 122 years. There have been a couple of upsets and a win for each side. But, it’s been over a decade since the US last lifted the trophy.

This year’s tournament is unique in that the winner will qualify for the finals in Malaga in November. Each nation plays a pair of singles matches and one doubles match. While each team has a chance of winning the group, the top two qualify for the knockout stage.

The Davis Cup is a nine-set competition. Two of the three matches have gone to three sets. Some of the best players in the world are playing in the tournament.

Doubles team vs the Netherlands

Andy Murray and Joe Salisbury lost the doubles rubber against the Netherlands in the Davis Cup in Glasgow. The Dutch team dominated the opening game and were up 4-1 in the second. But the British pair clawed back and took the lead. They stayed ahead until a late error from Salisbury sent them to a break.

See also  How Old Is Glasgow?

In the singles matches, Britain’s Cam Norrie lost to Botic Van De Zandschlup. Alex de Minaur, the Australian player, won all four singles matches to advance to the quarter-finals. He will now face Spain in the semifinals.

The Netherlands also escaped a tough group stage in the Davis Cup. They defeated Australia, Hungary, Belgium and Kazakhstan and qualified for the knockout stage. Against Great Britain, they lost 2-1, while the U.S. won 3-2.


If you’re a tennis fan, you know that the Davis Cup is one of the biggest international team competitions in the world. It’s a knockout event, with teams from 16 nations competing for the trophy.

The format of the tournament has changed for the upcoming edition. Teams will play two singles matches against group opponents, and the winners advance to the quarterfinals. The top two teams in each group will advance to the knockout stages.

For the first time in 20 years, the Davis Cup will feature fewer home-away ties. That means that the tie between the U.S. and Great Britain in Glasgow, Scotland, will take place in September, not November.

A host of other countries will also compete in the Group Stages. Germany, Italy, Spain, and Netherlands are among the four cities that will host the competition. Several notable players, including Taylor Fritz, Alexander Bublik, and Cameron Norrie, will participate.

Minute’s silence at start of each day’s play

The Lawn Tennis Association (LTA) announced that the group stage of the Davis Cup Finals will go ahead in Glasgow. The event will be played at the Emirates Arena from September 13-18. During the tournament, there will be a minute’s silence before each day’s play. This is in memory of Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II.

See also  How Old Is Glasgow Cathedral?

The LTA believes that sport plays an important role in uniting communities. They expressed their gratitude for the Queen’s contribution to British life.

However, some people feared the event might not be held. After the news of the Queen’s death, many sporting events were postponed or cancelled. It was not easy to find a suitable alternative location in a short period of time. There were also concerns about the cancellation of professional fixtures in the Premier League and the Women’s Super League.


For those interested in a world class sporting event, there’s no better place to go than the Davis Cup Finals in Glasgow. With six matches over the course of six days, you’ll be treated to some of the best tennis players in the world. Whether you want to watch the action or cheer on your favorite team, you can find tickets to the tournament online.

The Davis Cup is an annual competition between national men’s teams. A win in this event enables your team to advance to the next round. It’s similar to the World Cup, except the winning team takes home the trophy instead of a cup. There are many countries participating in the competition. Here are some of them:

The US has a long and distinguished history with the Davis Cup. In the last five years, they have won nine ties and lost only three. They have a record of eight wins against Great Britain. So it’s not surprising that they’re going to try to make it out of the group stage and into the finals.

See also  Where Can I Buy Clootie Dumpling in Glasgow?